Academic Awards

  • Throughout their existence, Richland and Pine-Richland High School students have been consistently recognized and honored by the most prestigious organizations in the nation for academic achievement.

    National Merit Scholarship Corporation

    The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has two different scholarship programs. The original National Merit Scholarship program created in 1955 and the National Achievement Scholarship program created in 1964 offer students the chance to compete in an academic competition. Both programs have recognized and honored dozens of the district's high school students. Learn more »

    National Achievement Scholarship Program

    Established in 1964, the National Achievement Scholarship program provides Black American students the chance to be recognized for their outstanding academic achievement. Students can compete in both National Merit and National Achievement and receive recognition and honor as a scholar, but can only receive one monetary award. Learn more »  

    AP Scholar Awards

    The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit or advanced placement or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. About 18 percent of the 1.8 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award. Learn more »  

Organizational Awards

  • Mid-Atlantic Alliance for Performance Excellence (MAAPE)

    The Mid-Atlantic Alliance for Performance Excellence (MAAPE) program named Pine-Richland School District a 2021 Excellence Award recipient.  The Excellence Award is the alliance’s highest award level. Pine-Richland School District was only the seventh organization to earn the Excellence Award in the past 15 years and was the first education sector excellence award winner. MAAPE, a 501(c)3 organization serving Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware, is focused on helping organizations achieve improved levels of performance by identifying and recognizing role-model organizations and sharing their best practices and strategies. MAAPE applicants are evaluated in seven areas defined by the Baldrige criteria: leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results. Learn more »