Return to Headlines

Enjoy Summer Reading!

The Summer Reading program encourages students to read (alone or with a parent/guardian) at least one book this summer and complete a project about the book. The project can be a poster, report, or drawing. Posters should be no larger than 22x14. All projects should include your child's name and teacher. Students who turn in this project at the start of next school year will receive an invitation to a before-school breakfast. Posters (no larger than 22x14) will be displayed in the hallways during the first few weeks of school.

Special Summer Reading Program Event!
Join your friends at the Richland Elementary Playground on July 6 at 6:30 p.m. for a Guest Reader and popsicles -- all part of the Summer Reading Program!
Questions about the Summer Reading Program? Email Christina Heinauer.

Summer Reading Lists by Grade

*The Recommended Reading List below that is part of the Richland Elementary PTO Summer Reading Program is not specifically endorsed by Pine-Richland School District. We encourage you to screen these books, just as you would any others, to ensure that their content reflects your family values. Encouraging summer reading is our goal.

Pete the cat series

A musically driven series about exploring one's world and trying new things while being smart, accepting and optimistic.

Clark the shark series

Clark is a shark with zing, bang, and boom. Clark zooms into school, crashes through the classroom, and is rowdy at recess. Clark loves life—but when his enthusiasm is too much for his friends, Clark's teacher, Mrs. Inkydink, helps him figure out a way to tone it down.

Fancy Nancy series

The show follows the adventures of Nancy Clancy, a 6 (and then later 7)-year-old girl who loves everything fancy and French (as in French culture) whiles living with her family and friends in a fictional version of Plainfield, Ohio.

Pidgeon series

The Pigeon series is a set of children's picture books by writer/illustrator Mo Willems.


Magic Tree House series 

The first Magic Tree House book was published in 1992 — introducing the world to Jack and Annie, a brother and sister who discover a magical tree house filled with books. In Dinosaurs Before Dark, the tree house takes them on their first journey, an adventure in prehistoric times. Since then, the magic tree house has whisked Jack and Annie — and lucky readers! — on many more adventures through time to different places around the world.

Junie B. Jones series 

Jones series, the stories of an outrageously funny kindergartner, and later first grader, that have kept kids (and their grown-ups) laughing—and reading—for more than two decades.

Mercy Watson series

Mercy Watson is a series of chapter books written by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by Chris Van Dusen. Mercy Watson is the fictional pig who stars in the series. Very Funny

Ready Freddy series 

It is Freddy Thresher, a first grader who knows it's a jungle out there. A chapter book series written by an elementary teacher who's seen it all!

Rainbow Fairy series 

The series follows best friends Kirsty Tate and Rachel Walker, who first meet during family vacations to Rainspell Island, where they help Ruby the Red Fairy and get involved in the first of many adventures to come.


The Jacqueline Davies series is a great one those include:

The Lemonade War

The Lemonade Crime

The Bell Bandit

Stories about starting a lemonade stand during summer break.

Judy Moody series 

An aspiring doctor, Judy does have a little brother who comes in handy for practicing medicine, a cool new pet, and a huge Band-Aid collection.

My Weird School series

The series takes place in a school whose teachers display bizarre traits, with each title focusing on a specific teacher.



Diary of a Wimpy kid

Filled with laugh-out-loud hilarious text and cartoons, the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series follows Greg Heffley as he records the daily trials and triumphs of friendship, family life and middle school where undersized weaklings must share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner and already shaving!

Babysitter Club series

The Baby-Sitters Club is about a group of friends who live in the fictional, suburban town of Stoneybrook, Connecticut. These friends run a local babysitting service called "The Baby-Sitters Club".

The Chronicles of Narnia 

The series is set in the fictional realm of Narnia, a fantasy world of magic, mythical beasts and talking animals. It narrates the adventures of various children who play central roles in the unfolding history of the Narnian world.

I Survived series

Lauren Tarshis is the author of the New York Times bestselling I SURVIVED series which tells stories of young people and their resilience and strength in the midst of unimaginable disasters.