Return to Headlines

PRHS Team Named in ‘Top 64’

teamThe Brewer Foundation and New York University announced Pine-Richland High School is one of the “Top 64” teams for the Annual International Public Policy Forum – the first and only contest that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy. 

Seniors Miles Brown, Matthew Farmar, Tadg Manna, Andrew Ni, Amish Sethi, and Callie Stoltz make up the 2021-2022 Pine-Richland High School Team, under the direction of PRHS Teacher Jeff Byko. 

The competition begins in October, as teams submit qualifying round essays on the IPPF topic. The Top 64 teams are invited to engage in a single-elimination, written debate tournament — volleying essays back and forth via email. The top eight teams earn an all-expenses-paid trip to the IPPF Finals in New York City.

This international contest is open to all schools - public and private - for free. Teams compete for awards and scholarships. The IPPF World Champion wins a $10,000 grand prize.  A panel reviews the essays in the order they are presented and selects the advancing teams.