Students Earn Top Honors at State Forensics Tournament

Forensics Members of the Pine-Richland Forensics Team took home top honors following the state tournament held at Susquehanna University. April 7-9, 2016. Some 600 competitors from 104 schools competed at the tournament.

Pine-Richland has two of the top 10 poetry interpretation performers in the state with junior Rachael Weinberg taking third at the competition and senior Leann Klingensmith placing eighth.
In the Impromptu competition, sophomore Ben Martin earned honors for placing in the top 10, taking the ninth spot out of the more than 70 people competing, and in the Radio Announcing competition, sophomore Alyssa Bigley placed 15th out of the more than 80 participants in that category.
Pine-Richland's state district, District 2, which includes schools in the surrounding area, also won the award for the top district in the state.
Congratulations to everyone who competed and to the entire forensics team for a successful year.
Ben was a competitor in the Impromptu competition. He, Alyssa Bigley (the radio contestant) and Genevieve Cohen (Student Congress) competed in events that are not held at state qualifiers but that can be entered at states. 

Overall, the Pine-Richland High School Forensics Team took second place at the District 2 state qualifying tournament held February 27, 2016 at PRHS.

Students, who qualified for the state tournament, included senior Leann Klingensmith, who won the Poetry competition, and second-place winner junior Rachael Weinberg.  In the Public Forum Debate, team members Mahak Sethi (sophomore) and Tyler Viljaste (sophomore) took first-place honors. Mahak and Tyler, along with ninth grader Mahika Sampat, who won second place in the Informative Speaking category,and had the opportunity to compete at the state level.

Students earning alternate status for the state competition include ninth grader Sophia Spallek and ninth grader Kevin Zhou, who took third in Duo; ninth grader Emma Arrisher, who earned fourth in Prose; and sophomore Alyssa Bigley, who earned third in Dramatic Interpretation.

Also earning awards were:  junior Richard Kwon in Extemporaneous Speaking; sophomore Genevieve Cohen in Humorous Interpretation; seniors Will Newell and Tom Sarabok in Public Forum Debate; sophomore Chelsea Carver in Informative Speaking; sophomore Ben Martin in Commentary; freshman Nguyen in Dramatic Interpretation;  sophomore Elana Sanguigni and sophomore Natalie Christel in Persuasive Speaking; and sophomore Andy Park and freshman Ben McLeister in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Congratulations to the team, coach Jeff Byko and assistant coaches Barbara Bastianini and Cara Bastianini.